Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-04-2005, 05:23 PM   #1
Legion5
CF Enthusiast

How to not crash your new 30k car?

Ok ok I'll admit it, I'm a bad driver, but I'm also a car enthusiast.

I've already totaled a 2003 Lancer, by merging INTO oncomming trafic from a side street.

and had about 5 close calls (depending on what you call close, just some minor scuffs etc) with my 2001 Mercury Sable LS

- Scratched the bumper paint when I took a turn too fast, (small turn), and went off the road, almost into trees and flatened a road sign, just the paint.

- Driven into the wrong lane of an intersection 3 times, and backed out onto where had it been another time there would have been oncomming trafic.

- Hit a concrete center pillar while parking, and slightley bent my licence plate.

- Merged into a VERY fast highway side road, from a near blinde residential side road to that merged with that road, there were no oncomming cars or cars behind me, so I merged, and a guy suddenly showed up being me going 45, I was going like 15 so I switched into the other (thankfully) open lane and out acelerated him.

The LS is very easy to drive and has a very unobstructed view, good engine etc.

Most of the roads here look like This by the way (see picture):

Either that or Highway.

I live right outside Washington DC and it IS a drivers paradise... except for trafic, or if you go West... to the Gheto.

Obviously I'm a teen driver so I suck, and been doing it for a year, so does anyone have some tips so I don't total the ride I really want.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 68723221_229626200_0.jpg (20.3 KB, 24 views)

Last edited by Legion5 : 08-04-2005 at 05:38 PM.
Legion5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 08:28 PM   #2
ChrisV
The Big Meaney

First, and most important tip...

PAY ATTENTION! Most problems are fromlack of paying attention, even if you think you are.