Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-30-2002, 03:41 PM   #1
ilusha2

Maintenance

Hi guys. I'm new to cars. Can you give me a list of things I should do to keep my car in tip top shape, running smoothly, etc. Like changing the oil, etc. I don't know anything. I am mostly interested in computers, and I know plenty about computer maintenance, but not about cars. I have a 1995? Buick Lesabre.

Just some things I found out today:

Change the Radiator cap once every 2 years.
Change the "Timing Belts" every four years.
Use the lowest octane level fuel allowed for your car.
Use the right oil for your car, thicker is not always better.

I found out this today from "MotorWeek".
Old 12-06-2002, 01:08 AM   #2
Talon_queen91

8O why would u want to use the lowest octane for your car? Higher octane helps out everything cleans out your system, could increase Horse power and u get better gas milage!
Old 12-18-2002, 02:58 PM   #3
mazda6man
im JDM TITE YO!

thats what i thought.... thats why higher octane gas is more $$$, im sure they dont do that for the heck of it
My rides = 1992 Cressida aka "the Cressy"
1985 Cressida aka "pain in my asshole"

mazda6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 04:32 AM   #4
RichG
CF Enthusiast

higher octane will actually lower horsepower on a stock car, I know its hard to beleive but its true, the reason is , it takes more spark to ignite the higher octane gas, the reason high octane gas is around, is for the higher compression cars (ex Corvette, mustang, also anything being stressed) a higher octane will reduce detonation from a engine, I wouldnt reccomend using high octane gas, unless you experience detonation under WOT..

Nayner = Good
RichG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 08:24 PM   #5
mantruck