Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Domestic Cars
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2005, 08:26 PM   #1
0SilverMustang3
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Question 03 Mustang











Just wondering, if the speakers in the doors are custom or stock, and the wires in the trunk, can i hook up a sound system to them? like an amplifier and two subwoofers?

bought the car used, so i dont know if all of this came stock or if it was custom.

thanks
-Mike
0SilverMustang3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 08:27 PM   #2
Pythias
CF Extraordinaire
 
Pythias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio, U.S.
Posts: 1,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0SilverMustang3










Just wondering, if the speakers in the doors are custom or stock, and the wires in the trunk, can i hook up a sound system to them? like an amplifier and two subwoofers?

bought the car used, so i dont know if all of this came stock or if it was custom.

thanks
-Mike

Look stock. GT right? Mach 460 sound system?
__________________
"Though I drive through the valley of rice,I shall fear no turbo for torque art with me. Thy rod and piston, they comfort me."

"It is not the strong who will win, but the winner who is strong." -ROTK7
"You wrote "The World Doesn't Need A Savior" but everyday I hear people crying for one."
Pythias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 08:40 PM   #3
0SilverMustang3
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
yup, it is the mach
0SilverMustang3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 08:47 PM   #4
Pythias
CF Extraordinaire
 
Pythias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio, U.S.
Posts: 1,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0SilverMustang3
yup, it is the mach

Thought so, chances are if it looks stock ti is stock, unless I'm mistaken the 460 comes with 8 diff speakers all around it and it looks stock to me, if you still aren't sure either someone will eventually come on who knows mroe about audio systems and will tell you, adn everything else you need to know.(also you can google interior pics of stangs and compare to yours juss to make sure its stock) but I'm almost positive it is.
__________________
"Though I drive through the valley of rice,I shall fear no turbo for torque art with me. Thy rod and piston, they comfort me."

"It is not the strong who will win, but the winner who is strong." -ROTK7
"You wrote "The World Doesn't Need A Savior" but everyday I hear people crying for one."
Pythias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 09:01 PM   #5
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pythias
Look stock. GT right? Mach 460 sound system?

You'd have to take off the speaker grills to see if they are stock speakers or not. No way of telling without looking. The guy before you must of had an amp on the truck, because I see power/ground wires. He just decided to take the amp out and leave the wires.

Take off the panels and see if it's stock speakers or not. Then we can take it from there.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 09:12 PM   #6
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pythias
Thought so, chances are if it looks stock ti is stock, unless I'm mistaken the 460 comes with 8 diff speakers all around it and it looks stock to me, if you still aren't sure either someone will eventually come on who knows mroe about audio systems and will tell you, adn everything else you need to know.(also you can google interior pics of stangs and compare to yours juss to make sure its stock) but I'm almost positive it is.
The MAch 460 consists of...

Three amps, one 2x30rms amp for powering the four 2.5" midranges (7.5rms per speaker) and two 2x40rms amps powering four Ford 6x8 (really 5.5x7.5) woofers (40rms per speaker).
His 6disc changer head unit is made by Visteon (some crappy company...). The regular CD player is made by Sony.

The MAch 1000 is the same as the MAch 460 only it adds two 10" woofers in the trunk powered by four 40x2 rms amps (160rms per speaker).
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 03:20 AM   #7
hhsrastler92
CF's Weekend Warrior
 
hhsrastler92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 566
deff stock lol
__________________
2007 BMW 328i
2008 Yamaha R6

^My kids^
hhsrastler92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 03:32 AM   #8
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhsrastler92
deff stock lol

How you can tell? Do you have x-ray speaker grill glasses? MY stuff in my car looks stock because I kept all the factory grills, only thing that gives it away are the A-Pillar and C-pillar mounted tweeters, only they look like it was from the factory too.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 03:42 AM   #9
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbird1100
because I see power/ground wires.
How you can tell? Do you have x-ray see the other end of the cable glasses? You could use those cables for anything (not that they'd handle high freq signals real well).

.... Sorry, I'm just messing with you I know it's 1 in a million that they're not power/earth, but I saw an opportunity because you just heckled someone else for making assumptions
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 03:50 PM   #10
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsonian
How you can tell? Do you have x-ray see the other end of the cable glasses? You could use those cables for anything (not that they'd handle high freq signals real well).

.... Sorry, I'm just messing with you I know it's 1 in a million that they're not power/earth, but I saw an opportunity because you just heckled someone else for making assumptions

I wasn't assuming anything. I know those are power/ground cables. Looks to be 4ga. Looks like also a remote turn on lead. You can not only tell those are power/ground cables by their size but also their connectors.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 11:38 PM   #11
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbird1100
I wasn't assuming anything. I know those are power/ground cables. Looks to be 4ga. Looks like also a remote turn on lead. You can not only tell those are power/ground cables by their size but also their connectors.
Incorrect .... I could use those cables and connectors to hook up a central locking system, or a video camera ... or anything else for that matter. They might be intended to be audio power cables, but let's face it, a cable's just a bit of twisted metal for electrons to move along. And the connector is just a way to join two bits of metal so the electrons can jump across.

So yes, you were assuming. A good assumption, but still an assumption.
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 12:31 AM   #12
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsonian
Incorrect .... I could use those cables and connectors to hook up a central locking system, or a video camera ... or anything else for that matter. They might be intended to be audio power cables, but let's face it, a cable's just a bit of twisted metal for electrons to move along. And the connector is just a way to join two bits of metal so the electrons can jump across.

So yes, you were assuming. A good assumption, but still an assumption.

I've never seen a 4ga power wire used for a central locking system or video camera for a car
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 12:37 AM   #13
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbird1100
I've never seen a 4ga power wire used for a central locking system or video camera for a car
That doesn't mean it can't be done.

I know a guy who runs external speakers at his house off CAT6. I know what you're going to say ... "you can't get decent sound quality out of a twisted pair data cable"... So what? He already had the network infrastructure in the house, so he uses it for background music when he's having bbq's and such, and it sounds fine.
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 12:49 AM   #14
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsonian
That doesn't mean it can't be done.

I know a guy who runs external speakers at his house off CAT6. I know what you're going to say ... "you can't get decent sound quality out of a twisted pair data cable"... So what? He already had the network infrastructure in the house, so he uses it for background music when he's having bbq's and such, and it sounds fine.

You could mate a 14.0L I6 turbo-diesel to a bicycle....but that doesnt mean someone wil lactually do it.

Face it the only 4ga or 0ga POWER WIRE used cars is for amps (unless of of course someone has done the "big 3"). As for using CAT 6 ethernet cable to run speakers...wow, now that brings a new meaning to ghetto to the audio world.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~


Last edited by thunderbird1100 : 10-12-2005 at 12:51 AM.
thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:02 AM   #15
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbird1100
You could mate a 14.0L I6 turbo-diesel to a bicycle....but that doesnt mean someone wil lactually do it.

Face it the only 4ga or 0ga POWER WIRE used cars is for amps (unless of of course someone has done the "big 3"). As for using CAT 6 ethernet cable to run speakers...wow, now that brings a new meaning to ghetto to the audio world.
I never said that you were wrong, I just said you assumed. Like I said, it was a good (and safe) assumption, but I just found it funny that you made a comment about someone else assuming.

Who cares that it's called POWER WIRE (or was that just a caps lock slip? ) Like I said, it's all just a pathway for electrons. You could power your amp off telephone cable as long as you used enough cores. Of course, termination would be a real bitch!

I actually thought the CAT6 idea was quite nifty. It meant he could play the tunes off his computer without having to move the computer, or run new speaker cable.
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.