Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > Off Topic
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2005, 06:48 PM   #1
nick27
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
Monoblock Amps

hey could a monoblock amp work on powering 2 subs i herd a guy say its possible and if it is how ??
nick27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 06:58 PM   #2
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
hey could a monoblock amp work on powering 2 subs i herd a guy say its possible and if it is how ??

Yes of course, you could have a monoblock amp power 8 subs if you wanted. You just wire all the subs together.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 11:39 PM   #3
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
hey could a monoblock amp work on powering 2 subs i herd a guy say its possible and if it is how ??
impedances in series add linearly, and the inverse of impedances in parallel is the sum of the individual inverses. Match your impedance and you can put as many as you want.
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 02:58 AM   #4
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsonian
impedances in series add linearly, and the inverse of impedances in parallel is the sum of the individual inverses. Match your impedance and you can put as many as you want.


mes thunks you went over his head with that one lmao



Yeah, a monoblock amp can power more then one sub - the subs just have to be wired in a different configuration...
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 04:17 AM   #5
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgerforlife
mes thunks you went over his head with that one lmao



Yeah, a monoblock amp can power more then one sub - the subs just have to be wired in a different configuration...
he asked how....
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 05:02 AM   #6
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsonian
he asked how....



good point
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.