Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > Off Topic
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2005, 01:10 AM   #1
nick27
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
amp and subwooofers!!!

hey guyz i just baught 2 8" jbl 250w rms/1000 max subs i was limited in space newayz i was looking at some alpine amps would 50watts rms x2 be enough to power them? i found to the alpine mrv-t320 and the alpine mrv-t220. i also found a mono amp the alpine mrp-m350 and the mrd-m300. which one of these amps would be the bets to power my jbl subs??? thank you
nick27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 01:41 AM   #2
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
hey guyz i just baught 2 8" jbl 250w rms/1000 max subs i was limited in space newayz i was looking at some alpine amps would 50watts rms x2 be enough to power them? i found to the alpine mrv-t320 and the alpine mrv-t220. i also found a mono amp the alpine mrp-m350 and the mrd-m300. which one of these amps would be the bets to power my jbl subs??? thank you

None of those would properly power those subs. What JBL subs did you exactly buy? What is the voice coil configuration, single 4ohm; dual 4ohm? That would help a lot to determine what amp to get. As far as I know the only 8" sub JBL makes currently is the 8" GTO series. Which is 200rms.

http://www.jbl.com/car/products/prod...at=SUB&ser=GTS
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 03:37 AM   #3
nick27
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
the jbl subs that i baught are 5ohms and a single voice coil there about 1 year old and which amp would properly power these subs please make it be alpine well preferable or a jbl amp one of the 2 thank you
nick27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 06:15 AM   #4
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
the jbl subs that i baught are 5ohms and a single voice coil there about 1 year old and which amp would properly power these subs please make it be alpine well preferable or a jbl amp one of the 2 thank you

There are better amp brands out there, and for cheaper...

They cant be 5 ohms, do you mean 6ohm? Or 4 ohm? No company to my knowledge has ever produced a 5 ohm sub. Can you post a link to the subs you got?
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 07:41 AM   #5
Stem
HAHA Im Stem!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 637
im not sure but alpine is not known for being the best maker of amps, you shouldve switched it and got a type r powerd by a JBL, but yah 50w would barely push a 6" sub....
Stem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 01:02 PM   #6
nick27
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
so a mono amp would be the best to power my 250 watts rms jbl 8" subs? and how much watts would i need to power them? o rif i should get a 2 channel amp or a mono? heres the link were i baught my subs
http://www.imezak.com/p800.html plz help me out wat amp would be the best to power 2 subs like those?
nick27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 06:43 PM   #7
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
so a mono amp would be the best to power my 250 watts rms jbl 8" subs? and how much watts would i need to power them? o rif i should get a 2 channel amp or a mono? heres the link were i baught my subs
http://www.imezak.com/p800.html plz help me out wat amp would be the best to power 2 subs like those?

Whoa, you DID buy the REALLY old school JBL Power series subs. So if you wire them in parallel to a 2.5ohm load you should get THIS amp...

to keep it cheap...http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/2552

That'll give them the power they need. And Profile makes one of the best budget amps out there.

DONT buy a 2-channel amp, most two channel amps ARENT stable below a 4ohm mono load when bridged, and you're going to be running a 2.5ohm load. You need to look only at mono amps that are stable down to at least 2ohms.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 10:57 PM   #8
nick27
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
k thanx for the info i found this alpine mono block amp the mrd-m1005 its 500x1 at 4 ohms and i think at 2ohms it was 700x1 and the total max power was 1000. is this a good amp to power my susb or i will blow them
nick27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 12:19 AM   #9
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
k thanx for the info i found this alpine mono block amp the mrd-m1005 its 500x1 at 4 ohms and i think at 2ohms it was 700x1 and the total max power was 1000. is this a good amp to power my susb or i will blow them

No, get away from alpine, you're paying extra for nothing.

The M1001 would make your voice coils and spider fire your cone across the state if you hooked it up to those two JBL subs. It puts out 500rms at 4ohm and 1000rms at 2ohm. You need something in the 400-500rms range at 2ohm. What's wrong with the Profile amp I listed? It's dirt cheap ($94) and works VERY well, many friends of mine have used either the AP700M or AP1000M, will give them the power they need, promise.

OH and BTW - NEVER bother looking up max power ratings, they mean absolutely NOTHING. You need to look at RMS ratings, which is the power which will be sent to your subs 99% of the time. Some companies overrate and underrate RMS ratings though.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~


Last edited by thunderbird1100 : 12-07-2005 at 12:21 AM.
thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 12:23 AM   #10
nick27
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
but y would i need it in the 2ohm area y cant i hook it up as a 4ohm and use that amp?? please explain
nick27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 12:56 AM   #11
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
but y would i need it in the 2ohm area y cant i hook it up as a 4ohm and use that amp?? please explain

Because you have TWO 5 ohm subs. You cant wire two 5 ohm subs down to a 4ohm load.

If you wire the 2 subs in parallel you get a 2.5ohm load, if you wire them in series you get a 10ohm load. That's the only ways you can wire them for a mono amp. You of course want the first load (2.5ohm) because running a 10 ohm load is one waste of an amplifier. And trying to get 400-500rms at 10ohms from an amp would require one expensive amp...

Just get the Profile amp.

Here's information on wiring your subs...
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp

PLenty of good info on car audio. If you type in your two subs impedance (5ohm) you get a 2.5ohm load if wired in parallel or a 10ohm load if wired in series. Those are the only two ways you can wire your two subs to a mono amplifier.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 03:01 AM   #12
Stem
HAHA Im Stem!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
but y would i need it in the 2ohm area y cant i hook it up as a 4ohm and use that amp?? please explain

thunder knows what he's talking about, you dont. alpine does'nt make good amps, profile and orion does. BUT i must say i learned something, i didn't know there was a such thing as 5 ohm hahaa.
Stem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 06:33 AM   #13
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stem
thunder knows what he's talking about, you dont. alpine does'nt make good amps, profile and orion does. BUT i must say i learned something, i didn't know there was a such thing as 5 ohm hahaa.

No no, Alpine makes very solid amps, but you can get the same thing for a bit cheaper, that's all I was saying when I said "you're wasting your money". I just run some Alpine amps because I got them off people for dirt cheap.

Probably the only amp line (the V12 series) I've ever come across to have no issues that I know of.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 12:57 PM   #14
nick27
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
ok thnx for the help i was also wonder if u get an amp thats a little stronger then your subs what could happen???
nick27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 07:43 PM   #15
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick27
ok thnx for the help i was also wonder if u get an amp thats a little stronger then your subs what could happen???

Nothing so as long as you turn down the Gain on the amplifer. But I dont recommend this for nOObs in car audio. I recommend something that sends rated power (if not a little less), so you can get used to matching your amps gain to your head unit without having the easier chance of blowing your subs up with a more powerful amp.

The biggest rule of thumb for nOObs is this...

The Amplifers Gain IS NOT A VOLUME CONTROL. If you crank it all the way up or most of the way up (mostly past 3/4ths) YOU WILL most likely send a CLIPPED signal from your amp to your speakers/subs and DESTROY the speakers/subs.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.