Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-08-2005, 03:32 PM   #1
cccpdraco
CF Newbie

Manual Driving Question

I have this question for manual drivers. Now I just started learning on how to drive manual car since I bought a 2002 civic sir. My question is when ever you stop at a traffic light and its red. Now at this point my foot is on the clutch and its in 1st gear. Now when it turns green i release and my car goes but its really slow and I find that behind me the cars are honking now i switch to second gear and 3rd and so on as fast as i can after i started but its still slow in the begining. Is there a way for the car to accelerate quicker from a stop sign/red light?? cuz i find startin at first then swithcin quickly to second a lil to slow.
cccpdraco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 03:34 PM   #2
Inygknok
El del Supra

let the rpms reach a higher level, and press the gas a bit harder.

Supra: To surpass or go beyond.
Inygknok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 07:07 PM   #3
ChrisV
The Big Meaney

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inygknok
let the rpms reach a higher level, and press the gas a bit harder.

Exactly. If you have a Civic SIR, then you have a guage in front of you called a tachometer. Tells how high the engine is revving. before you let the clutch out, bring that needle up a bit farther (like to say, 2000-2500 rpm, let the clutch out gently and press the gas harder. Don't shift to second until the needle reaches at least 4500 rpm for normal day to day driving, and 6000-or so for more spirited driving.