Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2006, 01:29 AM   #1
twistedlink
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
HELP! insurance etc!

Right im 18 years of age and ready to start lessons soon, i will have around 1500 pounds by this june i am HOPING after ive spent it on lessons and the test etc, is it possible to get a car and insure it for 1500, nothing flashy-but nothing rubbish, im looking for a car in the middle range, like K reg-R reg, and nothing over a 1.1L engine,the car i was thinking of is a ford fiesta, only trouble is i was just talking to someone on MSN who has a citroen debut ax which is 0.9L and the insurance cost him 1100!!!! this is just stupidly crazy, anyway id appreciate any help, afterwards the petrol and road tax is a doddle and dont need help with that, i earn enough money a week to keep a car going a good 200 miles a week and i wont be using it to that extent anyway (going below K reg is fine but not too far please)

Thankyou in advance for any help and sorry if this is like the 50th topic with the same question
twistedlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 01:35 AM   #2
twistedlink
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Oh also il be 19 in 7 months time and will this have any major effect on insurance?
twistedlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 01:42 AM   #3
97Talonchik
discombobulated
 
97Talonchik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,257
Can't comment on any car recommendations as I can only assume you're in England somewhere? As far as insurance goes, I don't think you can look forward to a drop in price until you've A) driven for a while and proven yourself a safe driver, B) get a good grades discount, C) turn 25.
97Talonchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 03:08 AM   #4
mattireland
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
your going to have to take into consideration where you live, to be honest you could get yourself anything upto a group 3 and still pay a stupid amount of cash

personally id spend half of what you have on peugeot 106 1.0 or similar, would suggest you have a check on autotrader for vehicles and prices and then try the different insurance companies online, usually give a 5% to 10% discount for online and see how the quotes stack up

outside of this your unfortunately in the same boat as every new young buyer!!

insofar as insurance companies try these, admiral are usually very good

Admiral 0800 600 800 http://www.admiral.com/
Adrian Flux 01553 777 240 http://www.adrianflux.co.uk/
AON 01384 552 670 http://www.aon.com
A-Plan 0845 071 123 http://www.aplan.co.uk/
AXA 0800 015 4292 http://www.axa-motor.co.uk
Bell Direct 0800 140 180 http://www.belldirect.co.uk/
Bennetts 0990 202090 http://www.bennetts.co.uk/
Brentacre 01792 650933
Bugdet 0800 028 9044 http://www.budgetinsurance.com/
Catterall 01254 695 055 http://www.chris-thompson.co.uk/
Churchill 0800 200 331 http://www.churchill.com
Cis 08457 464646 http://www.cis.co.uk/
CoverSure (RallySure) 01829 733 880 http://www.dmatters.co.uk/
Crowthorne Insurance 01344 771626 http://www.crowthorne.co.uk
Direct Line 0845 246 8701 http://uk.directline.com/
Elephant 0870 6080668 http://www.elephant.co.uk
Endsleigh 0800 028 3571 http://www.endsleigh.co.uk
First Alternative 0845 607 0380 http://www.firstalternative.com/
Footman 0121 651 6250 http://www.footmanjames.co.uk
Graham Sykes 0870 444 6319 http://www.graham-sykes.co.uk/
Greenlight 01277 263 030 http://www.greenlight-insurance.co.uk/
HIC - 08451 290 290
Keith Michaels 0181 642 7868 http://www.keithmichaels.co.uk
Liverpool Victoria 0800 514 514 http://www.liverpoolvictoria.co.uk
More Than 0800 072 4186 http://www.morethan.com
Motor Quote Direct 0800 48 44 33 http://www.motorquotedirect.co.uk/
Nash Warren 0121 561 4484 http://www.nashwarren.co.uk/
Norwich Union 0870 242 0800 http://www.norwichunion.com/
Peart 0870 240 2972 http://www.peart.co.uk/
Peoples Choice 0800 614 824 http://www.peopleschoice.co.uk/
Performance Direct 08704 203896 http://www.performancedirect.co.uk/
Privilege Insurance 0113 292 5555 http://www.privilege.com/
Quinn Direct 0845 850 0845 http://www.quinn-direct.com/
QuoteLine Direct 0870 444 0870 http://www.quoteline-direct.co.uk/
RAC 0845 3000 755 http://www.rac.co.uk
Sainsburys 0800 032 0000 http://www.sainsburysbank.co.uk/insurance/
Tesco 0845 300 9900 http://www.tesco.com
The AA 0870 606 0483 http://www.theaa.com
Hastings Direct 0800 00 1066 http://www.hastingsdirect.com
Esure 0845 603 7873 http://www.esure.com
Halifax 0845 608 9913 http://carinsurance.halifax-online.co.uk
Eagle Star 08459 45 45 67 http://www.eaglestar.co.uk
Lloyds TSB 0800 072 5050 http://www.insurance.co.uk
Screen Trade 0800 435 207 http://www.screentrade.co.uk
Its4me 0870 0131 464 http://www.its4me.co.uk/
The Insurance Centre 0709 2511050 http://www.theinsurancecentre.co.uk
Quote-A-Car 08707 709075 http://www.quotea.co.uk/quotea/default.asp
mattireland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:09 PM   #5
danny_boy
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
First car...

citroen AX 1.4 Echo (diesl AX) - 250
insurance for first year - 1100

total cost... 1350 - it can be done... and the car is still going strong a few years later, (or at least was till friday... now I'm having troubles which is why I'm here!)
danny_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:13 PM   #6
Cliffy
CF Loafer
 
Cliffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NE Hampshire, England, UK
Posts: 8,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by danny_boy
First car...

citroen AX 1.4 Echo (diesl AX) - 250
insurance for first year - 1100

total cost... 1350 - it can be done... and the car is still going strong a few years later, (or at least was till friday... now I'm having troubles which is why I'm here!)
Unfortunately, it's that way all over the UK. My first car was a 1.3litre Toyota Corolla and the BEST quote I got was 940.....everyone else wanted nearer 1300!....Now I've been driving for nearly 5yrs though....and if it was for my dirty license, I'd have cheaper insurance lol. Instead, I use the wife's!
__________________


Please click here for the rules prior to posting, and here to introduce yourself!

Artwork courtesy of Gregg, aka Voda48
Cliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.