Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-19-2006, 03:13 AM   #1
designbloke
CF Newbie

Question Can you help?

I am an Industrial design student at Huddersfield University in the UK

As part of my final year design project I am conducting research into car ownership and maintenance.

I am simply looking for problem areas that could lead to the development of some kind of device or product.

Can you help?
Do you have any problems with the maintenance equipment you use?
Is there anything you find annoying or frustrating living with a car that would benefit from research and new product development??

I will keep this thread updated with the progress of the project.
designbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 07:29 PM   #2
omaish
CF Newbie

i dont think there is much left for invension in cars . cars are now complete devices . and whenever some problem occours engg. solves it. however i never had any problem with my car or its equiments
Old 01-20-2006, 09:56 PM   #3
chris_knows
๑۩۞

Quote:
Originally Posted by omaish
i dont think there is much left for invension in cars . cars are now complete devices . and whenever some problem occours engg. solves it. however i never had any problem with my car or its equiments

There always is...do you remember that day in 1940-something (getting old, can't remember the days) when the owner of Warner Bros. said that everything had been invented, and nothing was left...was he right?

Do you remember when William Hewlett (Hewlett-Packard) decided to turn down paying for the design of a personal computer from Steve Jobs and Bill Gates?...He didn't commit suicide for nothing...

There are things that can be invented, but it's hard to think of it, like...something that saves fuel--something like a carbon-fibre engine (not that, obviously, but something like that...)
Old 01-20-2006, 10:16 PM   #4
BlueMeanie
CF Newbie