Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-11-2006, 08:41 PM   #1
99 Cavalier
CF Newbie

cavalier charging problem

Hi this is my first time on here its a great site but here is one that might baffle you. First of all I will say I work very close to home (5 minutes).
I have a 1999 Cavalier it was dead , I changed the Battery with a new one. It worked well driving around, I went to work for three days in a row(a total of 6 starts of the car. On the last day the car wouldnt start(battery dead). After boosting the car it ran well but checked it out replaced the belt and tensioner and now charges to 14.5 when running and is 12.6-13.1 when car is off. All was good until i returned to work for my three days in a row shift. Again it was on the last start of the car it was dead again. I have since checked wires battery again, alternator, belt and all are good. I bought from Canadian Tire a cigarette lighter gauge to monitor battery and alternator and it runs through town at 14.5 stays at 12.6 when off but continues to be a problem. I have not checked for a draw as i am not sure how. thanks for the help.
99 Cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 08:55 PM   #2
Cliffy
CF Loafer

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99 Cavalier
Hi this is my first time on here its a great site but here is one that might baffle you. First of all I will say I work very close to home (5 minutes).