Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-14-2006, 09:58 AM   #1
Fane
CF Newbie

1993 Eclipse GS Turbocharger Questions

I know you all get alot of these, but I have been having trouble finding information, so here I am! I just recently bought a cheap 1993 Eclipse GS auto with low miles, and would like to install a Turbocharger. This is the stock dohc I4 2l engine. Should I swap out the engine, or will this one work good with a Turbocharger? Being that I have never done something like this before, should I try to find a kit?

I know the GSX includes a stock turbocharger so this should be possible. Any good online stores to purchase the parts? Any help would be much appreciated...

Last edited by Fane : 03-14-2006 at 10:19 AM.
Fane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 07:22 PM   #2
97Talonchik
discombobulated

Ok, so you want to make your non-turbo car a turbo right? Just to let you know there's more involved in converting than just throwing in a turbocharger. I've told people before, if you've got the money and the patience, go for it. To me, I think it would be cheaper to just buy the GSX.
97Talonchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:10 PM   #3
Fane
CF Newbie

Yes, I understand that. That is why I asked if a kit would be better...
It really is not a big deal to me, I might not install a turbo, it depends if I find one and have the time to learn to install it. I understand it would be cheaper to have bought the GSX, but that is not what I am asking here. I just need to know where to look for a turbo kit that would fit my vehicle. What brands out there are the best? I have not had much luck on Ebay or my local junkyards.
Old 03-14-2006, 09:34 PM   #4
Golddragoner
CF Enthusiast