Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-17-2006, 10:37 PM   #1
coldinvt
CF Newbie

Cool FNG needs a ride - <US$30k

Hey all! I am looking for ideas. I've set a $30k limit for meself and I want something FUN. I (whoops) *sorta'* hijacked another thread with this post so, in the interest of being a responsibly participating NOOB, I repost it here:

My recollection of the Suby, 300ZX and S2K is that they're all pretty noisy. I haven't driven the Lancer, but it's a tinny little thing and I'm sure it would suck too. I wear earplugs enough on the bike! If you want a raw sports car, these are all great choices... Me? It's all about GT. By that I mean Gran Tourismo... Great power and handling with plenty of long range comfort so you can hop in and drive it to your heart's content.

I've driven a Bxstr but it's been awhile. I remember it being AWESOME (the 1st Porsche I've driven) but redline seemed too low, that's for sure... It's smooth and powerful right on past it! I don't remember it being too noisy, but then the top was up. Fantastic car. Personally I don't want a convertible 'cause it's cold in VT and visibility SUX with a ragtop up. I can't get past the looks of the Z3, but it does drive beautifully.

The '06 Civic Si is a surprisingly refined little go-cart. Much quieter than b4 (<6k rpm) and much more powerful than before (>0 rpm!). Handles awesome and comes with 5 years of warranty you won't need. Ltd Slip Diff is std. .92g (or something mad) on the skidpad is std. It's a sweet little rig!

I like the RX-8 aLOT, but it's exceedingly poor gas mileage has me a little sketched out. I hear it's pretty quiet on the highway (important) and handles incredibly well due to low center of mass and 50/50 weight distribution...