Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2004, 10:39 PM   #1
shooter45
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
99 Taurus Dome light problem

On my 99Taurus when driving or when I park the car. The Dome light stays on I have to shut it off maually by the switch on the head liner. it seems to happen only once in a while. Anyone know a fix for this???

Thanks
shooter45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 10:42 PM   #2
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Anyone? I don't have permission to say it.

Almost forgot, moving to R&M.
__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 11:49 PM   #3
stepman
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
dome light

Does your "door ajar" light stay on too?
stepman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:52 AM   #4
tbaxleyjr
CF Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere in the Southeastern U.S.
Posts: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by shooter45
On my 99Taurus when driving or when I park the car. The Dome light stays on I have to shut it off maually by the switch on the head liner. it seems to happen only once in a while. Anyone know a fix for this???

Thanks

Shooter:

Read the first thread under repair and maintenance - Introduce yourself, describe make and model, etc. If this happens, more folks will likely chime in and help

With that point made, I would look for a bad switch in one of the door posts/pillars (usually a rubber covered metal or plastic device which is spring loaded and pushes out to engage the contacts for the dome light) The last time I replaced one on a 1994 Ford my wife used to own was about $15 for the switch @ the dealer plus about 10 minutes of my time to put it in.

A way to test the switches is to on one door @ a time, push the switch in and see if the dome light goes off. If it doesn't, the switch is bad and should be replaced

Last edited by tbaxleyjr : 04-22-2004 at 03:18 AM.
tbaxleyjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 04:29 PM   #5
stepman
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
I believe that the swsitches are mounted on the back of the latches now. Not easily accessable. Sometimes lubing up the latch real good loosens them up though.
stepman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 04:59 PM   #6
lectroid
0000?
 
lectroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Redneck Hillbilly Heaven
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepman
I believe that the swsitches are mounted on the back of the latches now. Not easily accessable. Sometimes lubing up the latch real good loosens them up though.
Yep, your right, but try lubing them up with wd-40 or lps-1 or 3, not white grease.
__________________
Life is not a bitch, it just came with the package. [IMG][/IMG]
Laughing is good exercise. It's like jogging on the inside.
lectroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 02:24 AM   #7
tbaxleyjr
CF Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere in the Southeastern U.S.
Posts: 1,067
lectoid - stepman Thanks for the help.

I had never noticed the change switch location until I went out and looked @ my wifes 2002 Chrysler , my daughters 1999 Altima and my 1992 Crown Victoria - you two are right. The Crown Vic and the Altima has its switch on either the near the A or B pillar while the Town and Country has it in the door latch or pull handle.
tbaxleyjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 03:16 AM   #8
Rhino77_99
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sioux City Iowa
Posts: 15
switches

The switches are in the door latch very hard to get too, use a power washer and spray in latch or aerosal brake cleaner ( Not Carb Cleaner)! The switches get sticky wd40 will make this worse. The dealer can tell you exactly which one But will cost diag and the correct fix is to replace the switch
Rhino77_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.