Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-04-2006, 04:15 AM   #1
hondaman
I drive a Buick.

Steering wheel replacement

As most of you already know, or can guess, I own a 1994 Honda Accord EX. Right now I'm thinking of replacing the steering wheel. Currently, I have the urethane (or whatever that stuff is called) wheel. My problem with it is, the previous driver of the car had a habit of driving that caused his wedding ring to wear the wheel down where he usually positioned his hands. This leaves me with a wheel that looks very worn in one spot, and it flakes off. I got a wheel cover that I have been using for the past two or three years, but I took it off today and I decided I really missed the feel of just the wheel; the cover makes it feel far to thick for comfort. So, I have decided to replace the wheel, only this time, I will replace it with the leather wrapped wheel that was available on that generation instead of the urethane one, just because I would prefer that. Now that I have given the background information, here comes the question. How simple would it be for me to take off the old wheel and put the new one on? The horn and cruise control buttons don't seem to be integrated into the outer wheel; rather they either go straight through the covering or are a completely separate unit. However there could quite easily be some complications that I am unaware of. As long as I don't have to disconnect or fool around with any of the electronic stuff, I should be fine. Is it really as simple as unscrewing the old one and screwing the new one on? I intend to ask the Honda parts department when they open tomorrow for more information as to exactly how to do it. But any experience on this would be extremely helpful to guide me along my decision on this matter. (Whether to let a mechanic do it or do it myself). Thanks for your time.
Old 04-04-2006, 04:22 AM   #2
davsmitty