Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Domestic Cars
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-06-2006, 12:51 AM   #1
Gaffney982
CF Newbie

1973 Pontiac Grand Prix

Hey all, this is my 1st post!

My friend has '73 Pontiac Grand Prix with the 400 V8. I am basically a noob when it comes to carbuerated vehicles so please be gentle with the responses. He's looking to get some performance out of the vehicle. He needs a carbuerator since the one he has is pretty gunked up and he just wants a better performing carb. He doesn't want to do anything to the block (i.e. pistons,cams,head work or anything thing like that). But I figured that the bolt on items such as intake/exhaust manifolds, carb and whatever else. But basically what bolt-on items would be good for him? But more importantly, what would be the best carb to use?
Gaffney982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 12:59 AM   #2
SlipKnoT
The Ultimate Maggot

A carb, an intake and a nice set of headers would be good. For the carb., go with Holley. Try to get a Double Pumper. It doesnt have to be anything really high-flow, just a 650cfm or so.

Any Edelbrock intake will be good, so you shouldnt have a problem there.

When looking at a set of headers, the best choice would proabably be a set or Hooker Super-Competitions. Hedman Headers are good too.
SlipKnoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 02:59 AM   #3
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaffney982
Hey all, this is my 1st post!