Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-22-2006, 01:16 AM   #1
Neil9327
CF Newbie

tilting seats in cars

Hi,

I'm a newbie here. I spend most of my time on scienceforums.net which may explain the slight geekieness of my question here:

When I am driving a car, I find it slightly annoying when cornering to be shoved into the side of the seat. Although car seats are fitted with fat bits on the sides to stop you sliding right off, it is still somewhat uncomfortable.

So has any car manufacturer considered doing the following: to fit the drivers seat, steering wheel, footwell, and pedals into a rig that can rotate left or right along a horizontal axis from front to rear. This would mean that the driver would tilt over to the right when turning right, and vice versa to the left, and a smoother ride would result.
A similar arrangement could work for passengers.
Note I am not suggesting that the whole car tilt - only the driver and passengers.
The connection between the steering column and the wheels would have to be such that as the "capsule" (as I might call it) tilts the wheels are not turned assuming the driver holds the wheel still from his reference frame.

It might take a little getting used to when driving, but think about the stress relief, and the benefit for things like back pain etc.

My inspiration, of course, comes from the new tilting trains on the London to Manchester railway (or is talking about the railways a taboo word on a car forum?)

Cheers
Neil9327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2006, 01:56 AM   #2
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer

1) You truly a geek. Anyone who really enjoys driving loves the g-forces pushing them sideways when driving.

2) You don't seem too scientific. "fat bits on the sides"? They're called bolsters. Learn the lingo, for your sake and ours.