Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-24-2006, 09:47 PM   #1
warlike symbol
CF Newbie

'98 eclipse

i own a 98 eclipse gst (its over rated sometimes :/) and im running into some problems with it. such as when i go over gravel or bumps i hear a clunking sound. i took it to midas to get it looked at and he said the REAR control arm was going out and that i needed it replaced soon. so i then took it to the guy who normally does everything on my car and had him make sure it -really- was going out, etc. he said there wasnt a problem but to call my dealership and check on a recall, i did and it had already been done on my car. so i was just wondering if anyone has heard of this problem or if someone could point me in the right direction as to what kind of questions to ask my mech.

sorry this is so long and if i posted it in the wrong place, its my first time

amanda
warlike symbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 09:51 PM   #2
PontiacFan27
CF Extraordinaire

It doesn't need to be a common problem for it to happen. Sometimes things break.
Old 08-24-2006, 09:58 PM   #3
05BlackWRX
CF Newbie

Can you be more specific on where the noise is coming from under the car, or is it an overwhelming noise that is really loud and hard to pinpoint?
Old 08-24-2006, 10:05 PM   #4
warlike symbol
CF Newbie

yes, it almost sounds like its coming from right under the drivers side. you can still hear it on the passenger side but its not AS loud.
Old 08-24-2006, 10:20 PM   #5
05BlackWRX
CF Newbie

Arrow Front Control Arm

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlike symbol
yes, it almost sounds like its coming from right under the drivers side. you can still hear it on the passenger side but its not AS loud.

Sounds like the FRONT control arm to me. The joint is probally worn out. I would go and get it checked out again.

Hope this helped.

Last edited by 05BlackWRX : 08-24-2006 at 10:30 PM.