Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Domestic Cars
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-13-2004, 04:25 AM   #1
iwantmydaddy
CF Newbie

Question 95 Lesabre doesn't always start

Hi, I think I introduced myself correctly, but not sure. I'm new to the car forum. I have a 95 Buick Lesabre Custom, 3800 engine, automatic with 138k+. Sometimes it doesn't start. Just turns over and over. If I keep turning it over, like about 10-15 tiimes, it will start. It does this on short trips only. If I drive to the store and run in for 10 minutes or so, it won't start. I have had the the basic tune-up and fuel filter changed but it did the same thing just a few hours later. I have not had it hooked up to a computer yet. I have been putting fuel injector cleaner in it pretty religiously for a few months. I have to take it in this week because now it will stall out on me sometimes at lights and then I go through the 10-15 turnovers before it starts again. Engine light comes on, but if I turn it off and back on again right away, engine light goes off. I need some suggestions as to what I should tell the mechanic when I take it in. I don't have a regular mechanic. I was going to take it into Kwik Kar tune up place. Thanks for any help in advance.
iwantmydaddy!
iwantmydaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2004, 04:39 AM   #2
Cliffy
CF Loafer

Hi, although this thread should be in the Repairs section, I'll help you anyway, as you were polite enough to introduce yourself first lol. Ok, Initially it sounded like a fuel starvation problem, but seeing as how you've had the fuel filter replaced it sounds less likely now. Tell me, does it do it permantly, or is the fuel at a certain level?

Please click here for the rules prior to posting, and here to introduce yourself!

Artwork courtesy of Gregg, aka Voda48
Cliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2004, 04:58 AM   #3
iwantmydaddy
CF Newbie

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy