Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-11-2006, 04:16 PM   #1
Bloodcraft
CF Newbie

Question Help Please, L@@K

Okay I am a fairly new stick driver and I had some questions. I first learned stick on a 1991 Volvo 240, but that was many years ago. I purchased a 2006 wrangler 6-speed and wanted to make sure i was doing everything properly.

ok here are my questions:

1. Is it okay to keep the clutch half engaged during reverse? I have a small turn-around in my driveway and I almost half to keep the clutch half engaged to hold myself back. Also is keeping the clutch half engaged in traffic jams okay?

2. is 1st gear different then all the other gears? Can I still bring the RPMS up to 3 or further? why does my car make a chunking sound when i shift at low rpms from first to second?
4. The car makes a clacking noise if the clutch is engaged when the rpms excede 2rpms or more
5. Does it strain a car to go past 2.5 - 3 rpms when shifting?
6. Sometimes when im shifting the gear shifter level from l ets say 1st to 2nd I can feel it being grabbed into the slot? like i can feel the gear being pulled into the gear slot is this normal? even when the clutch is completely down to the floor?
7. Is it okay to shift fast? it almost seems as if i have to pause in neutral then continue into the next gear because it has such a long throw.
8. Also in parking lots etc. what do you guys do? I find that 1st gear has such a high excessive engine whine when i let off the gas its annoying..

thanks for the tips guys
Bloodcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 05:24 PM   #2
Bloodcraft
CF Newbie

plz?
Old 12-11-2006, 06:16 PM   #3
Inygknok
El del Supra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodcraft