Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2007, 08:42 PM   #1
eclipse95/92
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
i dont know

ok i blew the motor in my car and it a 5 speed.....and i know someone that has one and it has a auto.......so would it work for my trans.....
eclipse95/92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 08:45 PM   #2
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Read this and please put in all of the information to get sufficient help.
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 11:15 PM   #3
eclipse95/92
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
ok i blew my 420a and it has 5 speed and and i found another 420a with a auto trans....will the motors enterchange
eclipse95/92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 11:17 PM   #4
eclipse95/92
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
so what im asking are all motors the same and the trans are different
eclipse95/92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 05:29 AM   #5
97Talonchik
discombobulated
 
97Talonchik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,257
You can't put a 420a automatic in if yours is a manual. The transmissions are different. So no... unless you want to put in an automatic transmission. There are tons of places that have these motors though. You shouldn't have a problem finding one that will work.
97Talonchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 11:57 AM   #6
dodger65
I know more than Wally...
 
dodger65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: U.S. - Midwest
Posts: 2,117
we don't know the years, so we don't know for sure, but generally all you have to do to put an engine from an automatic car into a stick is use the flywheel from the car you're swapping the motor into...

edit: ...and add a pilot bearing/bushing, depending on how it is set up...
__________________
"Everyone is someone else's weirdo"


Last edited by dodger65 : 04-24-2007 at 11:34 AM.
dodger65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 05:33 PM   #7
Spanky2324
JDM LOL
 
Spanky2324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: El Sob, CA
Posts: 1,108
sell it and buy an eclipse with a 4g63 in it. You'll be way happier
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by What
Civic (Performance?) Numbers from the fastest of the slow...Si

92% of teens moved on to rap music.
If you're part of the 8% that rock out everyday, put this in your signature

Owning a DSM is like having retarded kids. You get angered and frustrated by them yet you love them to death.
Spanky2324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 06:37 PM   #8
glagon1979
daddy x3
 
glagon1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: back in Williamson, NY
Posts: 1,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97Talonchik
You can't put a 420a automatic in if yours is a manual. The transmissions are different. So no... unless you want to put in an automatic transmission. There are tons of places that have these motors though. You shouldn't have a problem finding one that will work.

correct me if i'm wrong, but you are saying that an engine from an automatic car will not work as a replacement for an engine in a 5 spd car??? or do i not understand?

2nd gen.
95-99 avenger, eclipse, sebring
95-98 talon.

1st gen
89-92 2000 gtx, galant
90-92 eclipse, talon, laser
92-94 sonata
next gen block starts
93-94 eclipse, talon, laser
__________________
this forum is to dead to share a cool sig with everybody....

Last edited by glagon1979 : 04-23-2007 at 06:45 PM.
glagon1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.