Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-19-2007, 10:15 PM   #1
no-sweat
CF Newbie

Question Brake rotor replacement

So one of my rear brakes was making a noise and yadda-yadda. Long story short I ended up replacing both rear rotors and brake pads. After they were all done, the guy told me I should really get the front ones replaced too because they would wear the back ones down (making the $250 I just spent pointless). Is there any truth to this? I'm no expert but I examined all four rotors and I could visibly see the back ones were pretty bad which is why I only replaced them. Any advice?

And on a completely unrelated topic, is it true that using your air conditioning doesn't use more gas? My girlfriend said they did it on Mythbusters and they concluded using A/C does not use gas!

Thanks guys!!

p.s. I have a 2004 Pontiac Grand Am GT with front wheel drive... if that matters.

Last edited by no-sweat : 07-19-2007 at 10:26 PM.
no-sweat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 09:25 PM   #2
Cliffy
CF Loafer

Quote:
Originally Posted by no-sweat
So one of my rear brakes was making a noise and yadda-yadda. Long story short I ended up replacing both rear rotors and brake pads. After they were all done, the guy told me I should really get the front ones replaced too because they would wear the back ones down (making the $250 I just spent pointless). Is there any truth to this? I'm no expert but I examined all four rotors and I could visibly see the back ones were pretty bad which is why I only replaced them. Any advice?

And on a completely unrelated topic, is it true that using your air conditioning doesn't use more gas? My girlfriend said they did it on Mythbusters and they concluded using A/C does not use gas!

Thanks guys!!

p.s. I have a 2004 Pontiac Grand Am GT with front wheel drive... if that matters.