Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > Off Topic
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2007, 06:03 AM   #1
hhsrastler92
CF's Weekend Warrior
 
hhsrastler92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 566
Boom Booms

so today i decided to have some friends over

an well we decided to hook up my system


but i have a small problem


my amp is way to big for my speakers haha



i have a 1200 watt amp pushin 2 MTX 10's


so any advice to make these things work and pound??
__________________
2007 BMW 328i
2008 Yamaha R6

^My kids^
hhsrastler92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 07:32 AM   #2
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhsrastler92
so today i decided to have some friends over

an well we decided to hook up my system


but i have a small problem


my amp is way to big for my speakers haha



i have a 1200 watt amp pushin 2 MTX 10's


so any advice to make these things work and pound??

The amp is too big for the speakers??? well.... then it'll only "pound" as much as the speakers will allow. Of course, to find out how much that is, you'll most likely go too far and blow the guts outta the speakers.
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 08:39 AM   #3
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
More details would be appreciated.

Brand and model of amplifier.

Exact model of subwoofers.
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 03:14 PM   #4
hhsrastler92
CF's Weekend Warrior
 
hhsrastler92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 566
im not excatlly sure of all the specs, but my amp is a channel american pyramid 1200 watt, an im lost in the dark about the speakers. when we hooked them up to a 600 watt amp they sounded nice but im scared that if i hook it up to the 1200 watt amp even if it's turned down that it will blow them
__________________
2007 BMW 328i
2008 Yamaha R6

^My kids^
hhsrastler92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 02:42 AM   #5
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
A pyramid 1200 watt max amplifier will only crank out 600 watts RMS bridged. You should be okay, provided the subs are wired correctly, and that they're dual-voice-coil subs.
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 04:41 AM   #6
hhsrastler92
CF's Weekend Warrior
 
hhsrastler92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 566
well i got some good news an some bad news hah


i got everything hooked up an it sounded great.....
hell i even got 2 torch 12's for free from one of my buddies



but in the process of all this i fryed a channel in my amp
so we switched it to a different channel

an well i can smell it burning so i have to get a new amp
an when i start to turn it up to much my subs die
untill you turn the head unit off then on again

so now im in the process of findin a new amp that can push all 4 speakers
but im not gonna lie it sounded badass =]]
__________________
2007 BMW 328i
2008 Yamaha R6

^My kids^
hhsrastler92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.