Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-05-2008, 07:44 AM   #1
B to tha ILLY21
CF Newbie

What kind of car should I get?

Hey everyone, I'm new to this forum. But that's not what's important here. I'm looking to buy a new car in June. I'll have a budget of about $25,000...possibly able to push it closer to $30,000 with my down payment. Here are the features that are important to me.

-Something that looks nice. I don't necessarily NEED a "chick magnet" car, but I definitely want something that turns heads.
-Something fairly powerful. A V8 would be nice, but if something else is a better value in my price range, I will definitely consider it.
-Automatic is a much. I'm a fairly new driver (about 2-3 years), and I think an automatic transmission would be best for me.
-I love music. So something that comes with a nice sound system would be a big plus.
-Fuel Economy is nice, but not huge. I'd love something that gets good mileage, but I would be willing to look at something more powerful and sacrifice some of the miles.

I've thought about getting perhaps a new Civic, Fusion, or Mustang. I've also thought about buying used, perhaps a Celica, a 350Z, or Pontiac G6, among other things...

Any comments? Suggestions? Thanks in advance, and it's good to be joining the board!
B to tha ILLY21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 12:42 AM   #2
giant016
My mom says I'm cool

Fusion? Not if you want performace. I think the G8 is around 30K, I'd wait a bit though, I doubt you'll be able to get one at sticker for a few months.

A Mustang GT seems like a pretty solid car as well. Probably more of a "chick magnet" than the G8 if you do indeed want that, and cheaper. Not as fast though, and I see a million of them every time I go to the mall.

Used Evos and STi's are in your price range as well, worth looking at.