Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-25-2008, 06:55 AM   #1
Mathew
-BMW 3rd Year Apprentice-

'85 Corolla Stalling

Hey guys....very rarely do I post here because I work in a shop, so theres a few people I can ask advice from, but I'm in a bind.

My brother has an '85 Corolla Wagon, carburated, 1.6L SOHC, manual 5 speed. This car seems to have a lot of problems, it was in very good shape when he bought it, but he's the sort who drives it a bit too hard.

Last Wednesday it died abruptly while he was delivering pizza. He phoned me up and I went to see him after work. Checked for spark-good. Checked for fuel...well I had the air filter off and there was definitely fuel in the carb. Popped the oil cap off- Cam wasn't budging.

So we had it towed to my parents' place which was nearby. Today I replaced the timing belt which had shaved off about 10 teeth. Everything went fine, I was meticulous about getting the gears lined up properly (with my trusty Haynes manual of course). Started up nicely, revved up nicely. Test drove it, it was great, way smoother than before (implying I guess that the timing belt was dangling by a few teeth and not staying in the right spot)

Anyway so my brother went to work delivering pizza again, said it was driving so nice for about 2 hours.

Then it stalled. Now he can't get it to stay running without keeping the revs up. Whenever it idles, it stalls. He can't get going anywhere, so he's going to have it towed to my parents' place again. Unfortunately its not close by and I'm going to have to go look at it again tomorrow.