Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-29-2008, 08:06 PM   #1
sFinxX
CF Newbie

Question Neea a lit a bit of help pls

I want to buy a cheap used car, maximum 1.5k with resonable miles in the us. i think that new york is a good place to do that, because of the papers that u need, but i'm a forreign student who is in the us just for the summer and i don't have a us driver licence (only the one from Romania, that is allowed for driving in the us) and neither a stable residence (i stay in a hostel). so, if anyone knows exactly the laws and can help me with infos about how can i register a car for 2 months (because i'm planning to sell it after 2 months) concerning my status, i'd really appreciate. please.. thx (if u know where can i get a cheap used car i'd appreciate that adive also)
sFinxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 02:24 AM   #2
giant016
My mom says I'm cool

I don't think you'll have a problem registering a car for 2 months, but you might have problems with insuring it, I would stop into a local car insurance company and tell them your situation.

To find a cheap car, a good place to look is Craigslist.com and then search your area.

giant016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:56 PM   #3
Nissan_Altima
Biggest anti-post whore

I think it would be easier to just rent long-term from any rental company. It wouldn't be very expensive, insurance wouldn't be a major issue, and it's allowed with an international license in most places. Much less of a hassle too!
Nissan_Altima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 04:09 AM   #4
dvdrose18
CF's resident Nurse

Quote:
Originally Posted by sFinxX