Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Classic Cars
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-09-2004, 07:56 PM   #1
PANDM
CF Newbie

1968 Olds 442 wiring

First wanted to say hello - I am new to the board.

Have been looking for a wiring diagrm for a 1968 Olds 442 - it has a 455 that is original to the car. When I purchased the car I noticed that the wiring had been modified but thought that it would be easy to straighten out - yeah right . Well since then I have been searching for a diagram for the charging system. For some reason the generator does not charge the battery - while the car runs off the battery while running. I have pulled the generator and the voltage regulator and had them tested - they both passed. Thought the next step would be to get into the hacked wiring. Any assistance would be appreciated.
PANDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2005, 07:19 PM   #2
Diblue1121
CF Newbie

I notice you have had no response, and I am new to boards, but have you fixed this problem? We have a 1968 442 with a 400 and are having the exact same prob you are with yours...would be more than willing to swap info and ideas on this.
Diblue1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 02:13 AM   #3
fc7gtx
CF Newbie

With the wiring being 25+ years old I would just buy a new wiring harness, Year one sells a great engine harness for your car for around $100.00. I have replaced all my wiring and its made a big difference.
fc7gtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 06:27 PM   #4
Diblue1121
CF Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by PANDM
First wanted to say hello - I am new to the board.