Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Classic Cars
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-11-2003, 02:22 AM   #1
RoadRunner73
CF Newbie

73 roadrunner

Hi,
im new to the muscle car scene. I was recently out looking for a car and i spotted a 73 roadrunner. The body is in decent shap but everything has been stripped. My dad and I are going to buy it and slowly build it up over a couple years. My question is; there was no motor or tranny on the car and it was a 340 to start but i want to but somthing bigger in it, is it possible to fit a 440 (off a71' GTX) on the stock mounts, or will i have to do a lot of modifications to get it fitting right? Any help would be great

Thanks
RoadRunner73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 02:23 PM   #2
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice

Re: 73 roadrunner

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadRunner73
Hi,
im new to the muscle car scene. I was recently out looking for a car and i spotted a 73 roadrunner. The body is in decent shap but everything has been stripped. My dad and I are going to buy it and slowly build it up over a couple years. My question is; there was no motor or tranny on the car and it was a 340 to start but i want to but somthing bigger in it, is it possible to fit a 440 (off a71' GTX) on the stock mounts, or will i have to do a lot of modifications to get it fitting right? Any help would be great

Thanks

You need to find yourself a big block k-member, motor supports, and possibly move/change your trans crossmember. Good luck finding the parts in a junkyard, you'll most likely have to go the aftermarket.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 04:36 PM   #3
RoadRunner73
CF Newbie