Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-29-2002, 08:16 PM   #1

$8k import: which is the best?

Hey, im getting a new car for my 18th birthday. my parents said that the most theyd spend is 8k on a new car. So, i know yall get this question alot, but what should I get?

I really want an import, i mean i love mustangs and camaro's and muscle cars, but, i want something that is easier maintenance with better gas milage,plus i love the slick sexy body lines of the jap. cars. Oh yeah and screaming up to 9000 rpms also comes with a really cool feeling.

Anyway, i was wondering if yall could help me out. Im really kinda new to the import scene, so i need some help lookin for something that will terrorize all imports at my school. (a few civics with exhaust and intake), but also has the balls to hang with the big boys around town.

I was looking for something sorta new, that can be made to be really fast, but also somethign that hasnt really been done too much. Also, has to be available in manual, and has to be a 2-door.

There are a few Eclipse spyder GS-t's for sale, i havent heard too much about them. I've also found a 1991 3000gt VR-4 for 5400. Sounds kinda fishy to me, but it's such an awesome car...mmm awd, 320hp, twin-turbo...droool
Um there are a few rx-7's for sale. what about them? They are the pre-93 cars, and are N/A.

Um, also The integra is kinda nice, but i havent been able to find a GSR andywhere around here. I live in the hoiston area, so if anybody round here knows anything, let me know. ANy help yall can give is appreciated
Old 11-04-2002, 01:06 AM   #2

Hmm you are looking for reliablity? I would stay away from Mitsubishi, go with a Honda Prelude or Toyota Celica. Maybe a Nissan Z if you can find one.
Old 11-04-2002, 10:38 PM   #3
analloutracer
CF Newbie

You looking for Fun-to-Drive, or something with NO personaility?