Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Asian Imports
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2005, 10:18 AM   #1
sxyqbano
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
SOHC to DOHC?

By any chance is their a way to make my sohc vtec, to dohc without a whole engine swap?
sxyqbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 10:22 AM   #2
RusMan
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxyqbano
By any chance is their a way to make my sohc vtec, to dohc without a whole engine swap?

Hahahahahaha ....


Never heard of being able to do that, and do they even make SOHC vtechs?
__________________
RusMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 10:31 AM   #3
sxyqbano
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by RusMan
Hahahahahaha ....


Never heard of being able to do that, and do they even make SOHC vtechs?
hehe yeah, and sadly i have one... My girlfriends uncle said I could make it dohc by changing the head and the cams, he has been racing and building cars his whole life so I thought he was right...
sxyqbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 06:23 PM   #4
NISSANSPDR
and the Revolution
 
NISSANSPDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxyqbano
My girlfriends uncle said I could make it dohc by changing the head and the cams

1st of...if you have a Single OverHead Cam....you cant change CAMS since you only have ONE!!!

And where are you going to put the other one? I am sorry...I think you need a whole engine swap...very good engine's to choose from...either the B16 (the Civic Si Motor), the B18 (the GSR motor), or the H23 (the Prelude Motor)...IIRC...I dont know the codes precisely...but close enough
__________________
Yours truly,
Gabriel
NISSANSPDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 06:46 PM   #5
sxyqbano
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by NISSANSPDR
1st of...if you have a Single OverHead Cam....you cant change CAMS since you only have ONE!!!

And where are you going to put the other one? I am sorry...I think you need a whole engine swap...very good engine's to choose from...either the B16 (the Civic Si Motor), the B18 (the GSR motor), or the H23 (the Prelude Motor)...IIRC...I dont know the codes precisely...but close enough
Ok, cool. Thanks alot!
sxyqbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 08:08 PM   #6
ChrisV
The Big Meaney
 
ChrisV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: People's Republic of Maryland
Posts: 3,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by NISSANSPDR
1st of...if you have a Single OverHead Cam....you cant change CAMS since you only have ONE!!!

Which is why he said: "My girlfriends uncle said I could make it dohc by changing the head and the cams"

By changing the HEAD to a DOHC head, you GET the place to put the other cam. Sheesh!

As for the head swap, it can be done (Hondas are very interchangeable) but it's usually better to swap the whole enigne (as it's easy enough to find the entire engine vs just the head and associated swap parts).

The best place to get Honda questions answered is here: http://www.honda-tech.com/
__________________
I'm not mean. You're just a wuss.



www.midatlantic7s.com
ChrisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 09:35 PM   #7
skillzilla
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
sohc 1.6l civic motor

your best bet would to keep the engine configuration stock and intall a turbo kit from greddy or elderblock for 2500-3500 bucks youll easyly be maken 200hp opposed to the stock 127hp for the civic 99 ex , I agree a motor swap is a good idea remember it cost alot more money to make that kind of power with the b18c for the swap . so I say get a turbo and be done with it. GL
skillzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 03:08 AM   #8
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxyqbano
By any chance is their a way to make my sohc vtec, to dohc without a whole engine swap?

If you have a SOHC Vtec D series motor, then no, Honda never made a DOHC head for the D series. On my engine however (the F22a1, which is SOHC non-vtec) they have a DOHC head for the F series motor that will easily bolt up to my block (from the F22b). B series motors to my knowledge are all DOHC, as are all K series motors. All C series motors are DOHC except the 5th gen Accord's C27. All J series motors are SOHC as well. The H series is DOHC vtec and DOHC non-vtec.

Any more questions are welcome.

And to whomever posted asking if there are SOHC Vtec motors... YES, they made TONS of iterations of the D series in SOHC Vtec. The J series is SOHC vtec. They had SOHC Vtec F series motors...the list continues...

Just to show you out of the Honda/Acura lineup TODAY, these are all the cars with SOHC vtec motors.

Accord V-6
HX/EX Civic
Insight
LX/EX Odyssey (EX w/leather and Touring use SOHC i-Vtec)
LX/EX Pilot
Ridgeline

RL
TL
MDX
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 03:13 AM   #9
Voda48
CF Lance Fan
 
Voda48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,278
I just love when ChrisV throws a big old Pimp slap at somebody.
__________________
Here's my Website: Voda's Webpage It is in dire need of updating.
Voda48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 04:45 AM   #10
Godlaus
UnFedFat in Disguise
 
Godlaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voda48
I just love when ChrisV throws a big old Pimp slap at somebody.

he's not putting up with our sht anymore, either. I expect to see a lot of pimp slaps in the near future.
__________________
I am everything you want to be
Godlaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 07:24 AM   #11
NISSANSPDR
and the Revolution
 
NISSANSPDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbird1100
If you have a SOHC Vtec D series motor, then no, Honda never made a DOHC head for the D series.

According to this...I was not exactly fully pimp slapped...I ducked just in time
__________________
Yours truly,
Gabriel
NISSANSPDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 01:11 AM   #12
mazda6man
im JDM TITE YO!
 
mazda6man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,158
i HAVE in fact seen one before... some guy rigged a b series head onto a d series block... ran no problem... pretty darn quick too... good for boost, better timing, and stronger block...
__________________
I = JDM titeness
Toyota 4 Life;
I rock X Chassis Toyotas daily
My rides = 1992 Cressida aka "the Cressy"
1985 Cressida aka "pain in my asshole"

mazda6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 03:31 PM   #13
Alpha Lobo
CF Newbie
 
Alpha Lobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Xenia, Ohio
Posts: 63
i dont think you can do that
__________________
It is my opinion that Nissan makes the best automobiles in the universe-bdub13
Alpha Lobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 11:41 PM   #14
CarEXPERT
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,117
Is a DOHC engine better than SOHC?
I'm not sure about this but with a DOHC you can time the valve overlap right??
What else does the DOHC have an advantage over the SOHC??
CarEXPERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 02:22 AM   #15
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazda6man
i HAVE in fact seen one before... some guy rigged a b series head onto a d series block... ran no problem... pretty darn quick too... good for boost, better timing, and stronger block...

I've certainly never heard of it...links?
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.