Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-07-2005, 04:58 PM   #1
aamir9
CF Newbie

Toyota Camry, 1992, V4, won't start in cold

hi all!

i wish to make clear that i have very little knowledge of things mechanical, and so i will present as much info as i can. i'm not sure how much of it is relevant to my problem. i am capable of changing my oil and filter. i generally avoid touching anything else.

my 1992 camry (V4) was bumped from the front about 6 months ago- the hood is bent up a bit, but it has been fine running since then.

for the past two weeks, every morning i have needed to hold the key in the starting position for about 30 seconds and pump the gas pedal for it to start. this is only necessary in the mornings, after being outside in the bitter chicago cold all night. once it starts in the morning, it gives me no trouble starting up for the rest of the day.

i didn't drive the car at all yesterday, and this morning it wouldn't start despite my efforts. i opened the hood and noticed that the coolant level was low. (the coolant has now been filled- still doesnt' start).

engine oil looks a bit on the low side, but ok. transmission fluid also looks ok.

i have also found that one spark plug is missing a rubber washer that is present on the 3 others.

i'm a recently graduated person, and this means i'm poor. the frustration of not being able to go to work this morning was frustrating. i teach special education classes- kids in the public school systems. i like my job very much.

i thank you in advance for any advice you may offer!

-aamir
aamir9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 05:35 PM   #2
carlos
CF Addict

why don't you run a fuel injector cleaner(might help)i've found that one of the best one is Techron i'm not to familier with cold weather and what problems it might cause, i live in phoenix
carlos is offline   Reply With Quote