Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2005, 04:23 AM   #1
chud298
CF Newbie
 
chud298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Plainville, Ct
Posts: 16
Gauge installation question

I was waondering if there's somewhere else to hook up my gauges. I have a 1998 neon R/T I'm hooking up an oil pressure gauge and a voltmeter gauge. The direstions say to hook it up to the ignition box but I was wondering if there is somewhere easier to set it up. I'd like not to mess with all those wires but I would also like the gauges to work just like they would on the iginition box. When the car is started uo the gauges will go on.
__________________
1998 Neon R/T DOHC: AEM cold air intake, booger racing shifter bushings, B&M short shifter, MSD Ignition blaster coil, 8mm wires, 16 in. Maxxim Rumor rims with Toyo Proxes FZ4, Autometer oil pressure voltmeter gauges, polygrafite motor mounts, all around Euro lights
chud298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 12:50 AM   #2
srober32
CF Addict
 
srober32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 442
Are you just looking for a power supply?
__________________
When replacing your altenator, make sure your battery is fully charged.
srober32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 02:39 PM   #3
chud298
CF Newbie
 
chud298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Plainville, Ct
Posts: 16
Yeah I got the lights and everything hooked up. I'm looking for power. I heard that hooking it up to the ciggarette lighter in the fuse box works. Any other suggestions?
__________________
1998 Neon R/T DOHC: AEM cold air intake, booger racing shifter bushings, B&M short shifter, MSD Ignition blaster coil, 8mm wires, 16 in. Maxxim Rumor rims with Toyo Proxes FZ4, Autometer oil pressure voltmeter gauges, polygrafite motor mounts, all around Euro lights
chud298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 06:39 AM   #4
srober32
CF Addict
 
srober32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 442
If you can find a hot lead on the acc circuit that is usualy a good place to start. Neons are so tight under teh dash I couldnt even tell you where to start looking under there.
__________________
When replacing your altenator, make sure your battery is fully charged.
srober32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 02:55 PM   #5
chud298
CF Newbie
 
chud298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Plainville, Ct
Posts: 16
Yeah I know, it really sucks. That's why I'm trying to find another way to do it if possible
__________________
1998 Neon R/T DOHC: AEM cold air intake, booger racing shifter bushings, B&M short shifter, MSD Ignition blaster coil, 8mm wires, 16 in. Maxxim Rumor rims with Toyo Proxes FZ4, Autometer oil pressure voltmeter gauges, polygrafite motor mounts, all around Euro lights
chud298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 11:51 PM   #6
srober32
CF Addict
 
srober32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 442
Sometimes, you can use the power antenna lead off of the radio...but the gages won't work unless the radio is on. Or you can use the radio lead if the gages don't draw too much current.
__________________
When replacing your altenator, make sure your battery is fully charged.
srober32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.